The Sunday Times win at NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards 2019

The annual NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards took place recently and with a total of 26 category awards covering all areas of journalism including, print, website, mobile, audio, online, and video.


The awards are a celebration of journalism and it perfectly illustrates why quality journalism is so important.

The Sunday Times was one of the big winners on the night and one of the biggest awards for the night is the coveted NewsBrands Ireland Journalist of the Year that went to Mark Tighe of the Sunday Times for his investigation into the FAI’s finances and corporate governance which ultimately led to the departure of its chief executive John Delaney.

It was five honours in total for reporters Mark Tighe, Paul Rowan and Colin Coyle. Not forgetting Liam Fay, the newspaper’s television reviewer, who was declared the country’s leading critic. It was the second year in a row that The Sunday Times has secured the top award for arts coverage.

Here is a list of The Sunday Times winners:

Scoop of the Year: Mark Tighe, The Sunday Times
News Reporter of the Year: Mark Tighe, Sunday Times
Investigative Journalism: Mark Tighe, Colin Coyle, and Paul Rowan, The Sunday Times
Critic of the Year: Liam Fay, The Sunday Times
Campaigning Journalism: The Sunday Times (FAI)
Journalist of the Year: Mark Tighe, The Sunday Times

Well done to The Sunday Times!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.